Monaco Diamond League 2019

After the victory at the „Spitzenleichtathletik“ in Lucerne (Switzerland) on 09.07.2019, my journey continued to Monaco (Monte Carlo) for the Diamond League Meeting.

After arriving at the Fairmont Hotel (Monte Carlo), there was a good lunch with some French specialties. With beautiful Mediterranean weather over 28 ° C and a high humidity, a relaxing city trip was inevitable. As always, the port of Monte Carlo was full of expensive yachts, sailing ships and speedboats. Unfortunately, there is a lot of redevelopment and rebuilding, so the city is even closer and louder. The coastal idyll suffers from the construction of expensive projects.

Thomas Röhler javelin measuring run up

The competition day

On the day of the race it was over 28 ° C again and it felt like you were just melting away in the stadium. On that day everybody thought it should run perfectly with the timing: 19:30 – first event on that day and no long runs starting shortly after we started. With over 83m I started in the competition, then wait for more than 10min, we could not continue because of the TV program began the 2nd and 3rd attempt.

86,04m were now in my account. Unfortunately, the competition was interrupted again and again, not because of some 3000mH runs or 400m sprints, but because of athletes who talked in front of our runway with their coaches, the judges messed up in the throwing order of the athletes or because firstly an aquarium trailer video had to be shown on screen. The course of the race was unsatisfactory for some athletes in technical disciplines, especially the javelin throw.

Results:

  1. Andreas Hofmann / 87.84m
  2. Magnus Kirt / 87.47m
  3. Thomas Röhler / 86.04m
  4. Cheng Chao-Tsun / 82.29m
  5. Marcin Krukowski / 82.16m
  6. Jakub Vadlejch / 81,00m
  7. Toni Kuusela / 74.32m
  8. Kevin Mayer / 67.52m

After a less well-organized competition for us athletes, but still commendable athletics spectacle, it went back the following day in the home to Jena. The next few weeks will include intensive training days until Sunday, 04.08.2019, when the German Championships will take place in Berlin!

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !

Monaco Diamond League 2019

Nach dem Sieg bei der Spitzenleichtathletik in Luzern (Schweiz) am 09.07.2019 ging meine Reise weiter nach Monaco (Monte Carlo) zum Diamond League Meeting.

Nach der Ankunft im Fairmont Hotel (Monte Carlo) gab es erst einmal ein reichhaltiges Mittagessen mit einigen französischen Spezialitäten. Mit wunderschönem Mittelmeerwetter über 28°C und einer hohen Luftfeuchte war eine erholsame Städtetour nicht zu vermeiden. Wie immer stand der Hafen von Monte Carlo, voll mit teuren Yachten, Segelschiffen & Speedbooten als Destination. Leider wird zur Zeit sehr viel um- und neu gebaut, daher ist die Stadt noch enger und lauter. Die Küstenidylle leidet aktuell aber sichtbar am Baudreck der teuren Projekte.

Thomas Röhler javelin measuring run upDer Wettkampftag

Am Wettkampftag waren es wieder über 28°C. Man fühlte sich als ob man im Stadion direkt wegschmilzt. Mit über 83m startete ich solide in den Wettkampf, nach über 10min Warten, da wir wegen dem Fernsehprogramm nicht weiter machen konnten, begann der 2. und 3. Versuch.

86,04m standen jetzt auf meinem Konto. Doch leider wurde der Wettkampf immer wieder unterbrochen, nicht wegen einigen 3000mH Läufen oder 400m Sprints, sondern wegen Hochsprung Athleten, welche sich bei uns im Anlauf mit ihren Trainern unterhielten, den Kampfrichtern einiges in der Reihenfolge der Speerwerfer durcheinander lief, oder als erstes im ein Film über das Aquarium in Monaco auf den BigScreens ablaufen sollte. Der Wettkampfverlauf war damit für alle Athleten in einigen technischen Disziplinen und vor allem im Speerwurf nicht zufriedenstellend.

Die Ergebnisliste:

  1. Andreas Hofmann / 87,84m
  2. Magnus Kirt / 87,47m
  3. Thomas Röhler / 86,04m
  4. Cheng Chao-Tsun / 82,29m
  5. Marcin Krukowski / 82,16m
  6. Jakub Vadlejch / 81,00m
  7. Toni Kuusela / 74,32m
  8. Kevin Mayer / 67,52m

Nach einem für uns Athleten inhaltlich weniger gut organisierten Wettkampf, aber dennoch lobenswerten Leichtathletikspektakel, ging es am darauffolgenden Tag wieder zurück in die Heimat nach Jena. Die nächsten Wochen beinhalten intensive Trainingstage, bis es dann am Sonntag, den 04.08.2019 zu den Deutschen Meisterschaften nach Berlin geht!

Das könnte dich auch interessieren

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

error: Content is protected !